B.Sc Computer Science Programme

The B.Sc. (Hons) degree in Computer Science is a four- year programme for UTME candidates and a three-year programme for direct entry candidates that provides the graduate with a broad scientific background in preparation for a successful career in a variety of occupations as outlined in the Philosophy and Objectives, providing in the process a solid academic base upon which to build more advanced degrees (M. Sc., Ph. D) if so desired.

The department places adequate emphasis on theoretical as well as practical work in the laboratories and during the Students Industrial Work Experience Scheme. At the 400 level, students carryout individual projects in the areas of their specialization.

Entry Requirements

Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination (UTME)
a) Credits at SSCE, GCE, NECO or approved equivalent in at least 5 subjects which must include English Language and Mathematics and any other three subjects as may be specified by the Faculty.
b) The 5 Credits should be obtained in not more than one sitting or 6 credits in not more than two sittings.

Ordinary Level Subjects:
The five ordinary level subjects must include English Language, Mathematics, Physics and any other two Science subjects.

UTME Subjects
English Language, Mathematics, Physics and any other science subject.

Direct Entry
In addition to satisfying the required five (5) O’ level credits in relevant subjects, any one of the following will be accepted:

ii. Any two ICT certification papers (For a list of ICT certification papers, candidate to consult the department)
iii. ND or approved equivalent in the relevant subjects at acceptable credit level with five (5) O’level result
iv. G.C.E. Advanced Level in two relevant subjects including but not limited to Mathematics, Physics, Computer Studies.

Degree Requirements


To be eligible for a single Honours B.Sc. degree in Computer Science, a student must pass all the prescribed courses and obtain a minimum of 120 credits in a 4-year degree programme or 90 credits in a 3-year degree programme. Students are advised to refer to the relevant section of the Academic Programmes for details of the departmental graduation requirements.

Regulation on Course Selection
The Department operates a Course Unit system in a 2-semester academic year for the B.Sc. (Honours) degree. Students are required to take a list of approved courses and register for not less than 15 credits and not more than 24 credits in each semester.