B.Sc (Hons) Geology Programme

The B. Sc (Hons) degree in Geology is a four-year programme for UTME candidates and three-year programme for direct entry candidates. This programme provides the graduates with a broad scientific background in preparation for a successful career in a variety of occupations as outlined in the Philosophy and Objectives, providing in the process, a solid academic base upon which to build more advanced degrees (M. Sc., Ph. D) if so desired.

The Department places adequate emphasis on practical knowledge in the laboratories and in the field. Compulsory field works are organized both during the academic year and vacations for our undergraduates. At 300 and 400 levels, there are individual projects in pure and applied Geology from which students majoring in Geology must do.

Entry Requirements

Students intending to major in Geology must satisfy the University and Faculty of Natural Sciences admission requirements. Such students must have had a minimum of five credits at ordinary level or equivalent, with the qualifying subjects including credits in English, Mathematics, Chemistry, Physics, Biology or Geography at one sitting or six credits at not more than two sittings.

UTME Subjects
English Language, Mathematics, Chemistry, Physics.

Direct Entry
(a) Higher National Diploma (HND) in Geosciences.
(b) National Diploma (ND) with Upper Credit in Geology.

(c) Holder of Ajayi Crowther University Diploma with geosciences background.

(d) GCE Advanced Level/IJMB with passes in at least two subjects from Physics, Mathematics and Chemistry.

Degree Requirements

To be eligible for a single honours B. Sc. degree in Geology, a student must pass all the prescribed courses and obtain a minimum of 120 credits within the 4-year degree programme and 90 credit units within the 3-year degree programme.

Regulation on Course Selection

The Department operates a course system in a 2-semester academic year for the B. Sc. Honours degree. Students are required to take a list of approved courses and register for not less than 15 units and not more than 24 units ineach semester.