B.Sc. Microbiology Programme

The undergraduate Programme in Microbiology is a four-year programme for UMTE candidates and a three year Programme for Direct Entry candidates structured to train students in Microbiology techniques and to give a basic knowledge of the fundamentals of Virology, Bacteriology and Mycology, as well as, their relationship with other disciplines. Students will be exposed to both pure and applied courses in Microbiology to satisfy the manpower needs of Institutions of higher learning, Industries, Medical and Para-medical institutions and Laboratories within the community. It combines theoretical principles with a pragmatic approach to proffering solutions to the problems and the needs of developing countries including Nigeria. It also offers sufficient depth to enable the promising graduates not only to undertake post-graduate work in Microbiology and related disciplines but also motivates them to become excellent employees or entrepreneurs.

Entry Requirements

1. Students hoping to study for a B. Sc. Degree in Microbiology must satisfy University and Faculty of Natural Sciences admission requirements. They must have a minimum of Five Credits at Ordinary Level (SSCE, NECO), at a single sitting or six credits at not more than two sittings. The credits must include: English, Mathematics, Biology, Chemistry and Physics.
2. Direct Entry candidates must have "A" level passes in Biology/Botany/Zoology and Chemistry or Physics while ND candidates with at least Upper Credit in relevant areas in addition to the requirements in (1) above may also be admitted.

Degree Requirements

To be eligible for a single honours B. Sc. Degree in Microbiology, a student must pass all the prescribed courses and obtain a minimum of 120 credits in a 4-year degree programme. Direct entry candidates are required to earn a minimum of 90 credits in a 3-year degree programme.

Regulation on Course Selection

The Department operates a Course Unit System in a 2-semester academic year for the B. Sc. Honours degree. Students are required to take a list of approved courses and register for not less than 15 credits and not more than 24 credits in each semester.